FSF Awards 2014: Writer of the Year

james richardson kevin miles2

(Above - FSF Chief Executive Kevin Miles and Awards host James Richardson)

The Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill have been announced, have your say and vote here. In the build-up to the awards, we look at each category individually...

Voting is open now - to cast your votes, visit: www.fsf.org.uk/awards

Writer of the Year:

  • Tony Barrett – The Merseyside football correspondent for the Times, he tackles matters both on and off the pitch with intelligence, insight, and not a little humour. One of the Times’ excellent stable of writers, it’s a deserved first time nomination for this award for the Liverpool fan.
  • David Conn – Writer for the Guardian on all things football and money, once described as “Britain's most powerful campaigning voice on football's finance, ownership structures and social responsibilities” his work on the Hillsborough Inquest this year has been of great service to all supporters.
  • Andy Dunn – A regular guest on the ever-popular Sunday Supplement on Sky Sports, Dunn’s regular weekly columns in the Sunday Mirror, whether a verdict on a big match or commentary around one of the game’s key issues, are a must-read for many fans.
  • Amy Lawrence – Another first time nominee for this award. While now firmly established as a go-to for information and analysis on her favoured Arsenal, Amy’s profile continues to grow across the media, with regular appearances on TV, radio and podcast formats.
  • Sam Wallace – The chief football correspondent for the Independent, his prolific output never fails to disappoint, whether he’s covering matches or writing about the wider issues in the game in his regular column.
  • Henry Winter – We hope he won’t mind us describing him as one of the ‘old guard’, but Winter’s been with the Telegraph for 2 decades and is still one of the best reporters around. Winner of this award in 2013, he’s consistently one of the best in the business. 

Voting is open now - to cast your votes, visit: www.fsf.org.uk/awards

Voting will close at midday on Monday 24th November, with the winners announced at our awards dinner on Monday 1st December at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London.